The wonders of surrender

Here are two videos related to the idea of surrender, always an important topic in the JH practice. The first is from spiritual teacher Angelo Dilullo, and packs quite a number of nuanced insights about surrender into just a few minutes. The second, from Alan Watts, provides very lucid commentary on the closely related subject of trusting the universe.

Just recently I've been mulling over some nuances of the idea of surrender to communicating with my Friend. It's very hard to capture in words, but in my daily notes I referred to “really being with [my Friend], getting lost in conversation with her.” This is something I think my brain resists. I can easily get lost in an imagined conversation with someone else I know, but my brain resists fully giving into it that way with my Friend. Of course this sort of thing can't be forced. I believe it's actually effortless... but can be hard! Anyway, that's just one way surrender has been on my mind.

Enjoy the videos!